NZ Tourism Awards finalists named

Twenty-four leading tourism operators and stakeholders have been named as finalists in the 2017 New Zealand Tourism Awards – the $35 billion tourism industry’s most prestigious awards.

The finalists span the country from Queenstown to Waitangi and include long-established operators as well as new businesses. Accommodation providers, activity and transport operators, educators and researchers are among the finalists.

They will compete for awards in two individual categories and eight business categories, says Chris Roberts, chief executive of Tourism Industry Aotearoa which runs the annual awards programme.

“It’s really pleasing to see the competition for the New Zealand Tourism Awards is growing stronger every year. New Zealand’s tourism industry is enjoying unprecedented growth,” Roberts says in a statement.

“These prestigious awards celebrate the industry’s success and recognise the individuals and businesses doing an outstanding job, generating economic wealth and supporting jobs in communities throughout the country.

The Awards are closely aligned with the industry’s Tourism 2025 growth framework, which aims to grow total annual tourism revenue to $41 billion.


The winner of the Air New Zealand Supreme Tourism Award will receive international air travel to any Air New Zealand destination valued at $10,000 (+GST) to help them grow their tourism business.

The winners will be announced at a black-tie dinner in Christchurch on  September 7.

ChristchurchNZ convention bureau and industry partnership manager Caroline Blanchfield says Christchurch is delighted to host the annual Awards for the first time.

2017 New Zealand Tourism Awards finalists

PATA New Zealand Trust Emerging Tourism Leader Award

  • Jasmine Adams - Rotorua TOP 10 Holiday Park
  • Shayne Forrest – Hobbiton Movie Set & Farm Tours, Matamata
  • Margaret Munro – Earth & Sky Stargazing & Observatory Tours, Tekapo

Auckland Airport Tourism Industry Champion Award

  • Lisa Li – China Travel Service (NZ) Ltd, Auckland
  • Les Morgan – Sudima Hotels & Resorts
  • Ryan Sanders – Haka Tourism Group
  • Angus Stubbs – Tourism Holdings Ltd – Discover Waitomo

Sudima Hotels & Resorts Tourism 2025 Enabler Award

  • Angus & Associates Ltd, Wellington
  • New Zealand Transport Agency
  • Queenstown Resort College

Westpac Business Excellence Award – Less than $6 million annual turnover

  • Auckland Seaplanes
  • Dive! Tutukaka
  • Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort

JLT & AIG Business Excellence Award – More than $6 million annual turnover

  • Haka Tourism Group
  • Real Journeys, Queenstown
  • Skyline Queenstown

Department of Conservation Environmental Tourism Award

  • Real Journeys – Walter Peak Land Restoration Project, Queenstown
  • Sudima Hotels & Resorts
  • Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort
  • YHA New Zealand

Ministry of Business, Innovation & Employment Industry Alignment Award

  • TIME Unlimited Tours, Auckland
  • Tourism West Coast

He kai kei aku ringa M?ori Tourism Award

  • TIME Unlimited Tours, Auckland
  • Kapiti Island Nature Tours

epay NZ Tourism Marketing Award

  • Haka Tourism Group
  • SKYCITY Auckland Ltd
  • YHA New Zealand

ServiceIQ Visitor Experience Award

  • Skyline Rotorua
  • Tourism Holdings Ltd – NZ Rentals
  • Waitangi Treaty Grounds


For more details, visit

Posted: Monday 24 July 2017