New appointments to Tourism NZ board

Tourism Minister Kelvin Davis today announced the appointment of Colleen Neville and Kauahi Ngapora as members of the New Zealand Tourism Board (known as Tourism New Zealand).

“These appointments will add tremendous value to the board as it works to increase the benefits to New Zealand from domestic and international tourism,” Kelvin Davis said in a media release. 

“For these appointments I was looking for people with commercial tourism experience, particularly in the regions, a connection to Māori tourism operators, and strong financial acumen.

“I have also reappointed John Thorburn, Jamie Tuuta, and Jan Hunt for various terms, while chair Kerry Prendergast’s term has been extended to March 2019 to retain her experience and leadership while future changes are considered.

He thanked outgoing members Richard Leggat, Christopher Parkin and Raewyn Idoine "for their commitment, service and contributions to the board” .

Colleen Neville is chief executive of Te Arawa Group Holdings, which invests in the tourism, forestry, geothermal and agri-business sectors. She has been on the boards of Poutama Trust, Te Ohu Kaimoana, the NZ Forest Research Institute (Scion), Te Kakano Whakatipu Ltd, and Te Arawa Agribusiness Ltd.

Kauahi Ngapora is general manager of Whale Watch Kaikoura Ltd and has 25 years of experience in the Māori tourism sector. His governance experience includes directorships at Tourism Industry Aotearoa and Whale Watch Australia. He has also been chair of Destination Kaikoura and is a member of the Tourism Infrastructure Fund panel.

Posted: Thursday 13 September 2018